Team Standings


Quezon City 2-0
Valenzuela-San Marino  1-1
Marikina 1-1
Caloocan-Arceegee 1-1
Solid San Juan-PC Gilmore 1-1
Navotas 0-2


Bacoor 2-0
Las Pinas 2-1
Pasay 1-1
Makati 1-1
Paranaque 0-1
Taguig 0-2

Games on Tuesday, May 21
(Hagonoy Sports Complex, Taguig)
10:30am — Pasay vs Las Pinas (17U)
1:00 pm — Bacoor vs Makati (17U)
2:30pm — Taguig vs Paranaque (17U)
4:00 pm — San Juan vs Valenzuela (Reinforced)
6:00 pm — Taguig vs Manila (Reinforced)

Reigning champion Quezon City trounced Caloocan, 92-83, to stay perfect in the North Division of the Metro League Boys 17-&-under Basketball tournament Saturday afternoon at the MetroAsia Arena in Pasig City.

Alfonso Buot, Rolan Polizon and Hans Venedict Valdez led the way for the Junior Capitals who improved to a 2-0 win-loss slate, owning the top spot of the North Division in this M-League U17 tourney that is backed by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) and with Barangay 143 as league presentor.

In other games, Makati bounced back from an opening day loss with a 67-62 squeaker over debuting Parañaque while Valenzuela-San Marino also came away with a close 65-63 win over Marikina. 

Buot posted 23 points and 14 rebounds while Polizon also added a 19-point and 16-rebound double-double of his own for the defending champs which jumped to a quick 31-20 lead and never looked back as it even balloned the lead to as many as 20 points en route to an easy win. 

Valdez, for his part, chipped in 18 points, two rebounds and three assists for the Quezon City squad of Mayor-elect Joy Belmonte which joined South Division leader Bacoor as the only undefeated teams so far in this M-League U17 division that is being bankrolled by Synergy 88, World Balance, Excellent Noodles and San Miguel Corporation as major sponsors. 

On the other hand, John Sherick Estrada put up 26 markers, four rebounds and six assists in a losing cause for Caloocan-Arceegee which slid to a 1-1 record also in the North Division. 

Meanwhile, Ryan Dayle Celis and Raul Russel Isidro erupted for 28 and 20 points, respectively to tow Makati into a close five-point overtime win over Parañaque. 

Makati evened its record to 1-1 to share third spot in the South Division of the M-League which also has SMS Global Technologies, Inc. as official livestream and technology partner, Spalding as official ball, Team Rebel Sports as official outfitter, PLDT as official internet provider and Manila Bulletin as media partner. 

Four players scored in double digits for Parañaque led by Hanz Querido but they still weren’t enough as the team fell short in its tournament debut. 

Coming off a default loss to Quezon City last week due to the non-arrival of its players’ uniforms, the vengeful Valenzuela took care of business this time with a slim 65-63 escape act from Marikina.

 James Maliwat scored 17 points while  Luiz Tapenio hauled down a monstrous double-double of 13 points, 20 rebounds and four blocks including the huge basket in the last minute to secure the win for Valenzuela which also evened its mark to 1-1 in the North Division. 

Jhomel Ancheta had his 15 markers and five rebounds wasted in the loss for Marikina which fell to 1-1 also in the North Division of this M-League that is also supported by Gerry’s Grill, Summit Water, Alcoplus, Nature’s Spring and Goodfellow.  (JBU)

The scores:


Quezon City 92 — Buot 23, Polizon 19, Valdez 18, Rivera 11, Uy 8, Buenaseda 6, Dangaran 5, Nepomuceno  2, Vilaray 0, Pastrana 0, Bernal 0, De Dios 0.

Caloocan 83 — Estrada 26, Pancho 18, Nieva 11, Santos 8, Gazzingan 6, Principe 4, Gines 3, Lorenzo 0, Valencia 0.

Quarterscores: 31-20, 54-40, 71-59, 92-83


Makati 67 — R. Celis 28, Isidro 13,  Quijano 13, Mateto 4, L. Celis 2, Mamuad 0, Baldomar 0, Sulit 0, Atilon 0, Parane 0, Velasquez 0.

Paranaque 62 — Querido 18, Juntilla 15, Arciga 11, Marcaida 10, Bautista 6, Capulong 2, Tupaz 0, Velasquez 0, Tomas 0, Rodriguez 0, Bandalan 0.

Quarterscores: 14-9, 28-18, 35-38, 55-55, 67-62


Valenzuela 65  — Maliwat 17, Tapenio 13, Mendoza 8, Catipay 8, Basinal 6, Kirsch 6, Atienza 3, Tayer 2, Diologo 2,  Darilag 0, General 0, Soyangco 0.

Marikina 63 — Ancheta 15, Manalac 11, De Guzman 10, Militar 8, Lafortaleza III 4, Reyes 4, Igliane 4, Dayrit 3, Cruz 2, Casais 2, Basilan 0.

Quarterscores: 13-12, 29-38, 42-50, 65-63