Games Thursday, Sept. 28 ‘17 (San Andres Sports Complex)

6:00 p.m. Caloocan vs. Valenzuela

7:30 p.m. Manila vs. San Juan

MANDALUYONG made it three wins in a row by beating Parañaque, 94-83, even as Makati finally barged into the win column by downing Taguig, 91-83, in the 2017 Metro Basketball Tournament (MBT) 24-year-old-and-under basketball competition last Tuesday at the Makati Coliseum.

Sandy Ceñal  routed all guards thrown against him to score 31 points on 12-of-21 shooting to power Mandaluyong  to its third straight win and the solo lead in the South Division of this tournament which has “Mobile App ng Bayan” Barangay 143 as co-presentor, Synergy 88 as main sponsor and Spalding as official ball.

Ceñal also finished with 14 rebounds, including 11  defensive, and five assists in 35 minutes of action, Jonathan Boholano Jr. added 19 points and 15 rebounds, Joseph Gabayni contributed 16 points, 17 rebounds  and five assists and Cyrus Tabi had 15 points and eight rebounds for the Tigers of head coach Johnedel  Cardel and assistant coach Albert Olaya.

Ceñal scored 12 points and Tabi had 11 of Mandaluyong’s 34 second-quarter points that enabled  the Tigers to take control of the game after trailing 17-20 in the first period.

Lawrence Paulo Castro led the way for Parañaque with 23 points, followed by Jayboy Solis  with 14 points and 10 rebounds and  Lordy Geronimo with 10.

Sharing the limelight in this tournament  sponsored by San Miguel Corp., World Balance and Higer Bus and supported by Excellent Noodles, Nature’s Spring Water, 1-Pacman Partylist, Hopewell Sales Corp., Gatorade, Star Bread, Frabelle Foods, Regan Industrial Sales, Inc.,, Alcoplus, Primadonna and Archie’s Bespoke Bar + Grill  was  Makati, which ended a three-game losing skid to start the tourney with that victory over Taguig.

Nino Romano was the top man for the Skyscrapers with 35 points on a  respectable  15-of-24 shooting from the field.

Chris John Dabbay added 16 points and  Pat Jefferson Intia had 13 points for Makati, which kept the Generals at bay in all four quarters.

Dave de la Virgen paced Taguig with 14 points, followed by Miguel Gabriel Ramos with 13  and Barry Orodio with 1 2points and 15 rebounds.

MBT commissioner Pido Jarencio said the 14 participating teams are divided into two groups: North and South.

The top-ranked team in both divisions after a single-round robin affair will advance to the semifinals outright and while the No. 2 teams will have twice-to-beat advantage in the division quarterfinals.

The quarterfinals will be 2-vs-7, 3-vs-6 and 4-vs-5 affairs for each division with the winners advancing to the semifinals.

The two winners in the semis will battle for the division championship in a winner-take-all affair and the division champs figure in a best-of-three series for the overall Metro championship.

Aside from the Makati Coliseum, the other venues for the games are the San Andres Sports Complex, Navotas Sports Complex, the Hagonoy Sports Complex in Taguig (formerly the CP Tinga Gym), and the Paranaque Sports Complex.

Games are live through the MBT’s Facebook page, Metro Manila Sports Fest.Livestats links of the games, team standings and conference stats leaders can be accessed through and/or  (Robert Andaya)

The scores:


Mandaluyong(94) – Ceñal  31,  Boholano 19, Gabayni 16, Tabi 15, Senires 6.  Dada 3, Reyes 2, Monghit 2, Liquinan 0, Tilos 0, Calapine 0.

Parañaque (83) –  Castro 23, Solis 14, Geronimo 10, Saguiguit 9, Bermudes 7, Lalata 7, Andico 6,  Terania 3, Campos 2, Uduba 2, Elorde 0, Mondragon0,

Quarterscores: 17-20, 51-39, 79-63, 94-83.


Makati (91) – Romano 35, Dabbay 16, Intia 13, Vicente 7, Camacho 7, Cordero 3, Baculpo 3, Constantino 3, Redoblado 2, Domingo 2

Taguig (83) – Dela Virgen 14, Ramos 13, Orodio 12, Ordoñez M. 9, Maximo 7, Bonifacio 7, Ordonez J. 6, Collado 6, Cambaya 5, Vijandre 4

Quarterscore: 27-22, 50-45, 68-63, 91-83