17Under Boys Basketball

Team Standings 


Quezon City 2-0
Valenzuela-San Marino  1-1
Marikina 1-1
Caloocan-Arceegee 1-1
Solid San Juan-PC Gilmore 1-1
Navotas 0-2


Pasay 2-1
Bacoor City Agimat 2-1
Makati 2-1
Las Piñas 2-2
Taguig 1-2
Parañaque 0-2

Games on Thursday, May 23
(San Andres Sports Complex, Manila)

10:30 am — Bacoor City Agimat vs Parañaque (17U)
1:00 pm — Quezon City vs Marikina (17U)
2:30 p.m. Caloocan-Arceegee vs. Navotas (17U)
4:30 pm — Pateros vs Quezon City (Reinforced)
6:00 pm — Manila-INGCO vs Valenzuela (Reinforced)

Makati dealt Bacoor its first to loss, 71-60, to gain a share of lead in the South Division of the Metro League boys 17-&-under basketball tournament Tuesday afternoon at the Hagonoy Sports Complex in Taguig.

Ryan Dayle Celis uncorked 18 points to spearhead the attack of Makati which outscored the Agimat, 24-15, in the crucial final canto to salvage the hard-earned win. 

With Jericho Mateto also contributing a double-double of 15 markers and 13 boards, Makati notched its second win in a row to improve to 2-1 win-loss slate. 

Makati now forged a share of lead with Bacoor (2-1) and Pasay (2-1) in the South Division of the M-League that is backed by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) and with Barangay 143 as league presentor.. 

In other 17U games,  Pasay clobbered Las Piñas, 79-67, while home team Taguig fended off visiting Parañaque, 50-44,  in a battle of South Division squads.

Makati, which dropped its first game, caught the previously unbeaten Bacoor offguard with a quick 33-24 lead at the half. 

But Bacoor made up for it with a third quarter run of its own to trim the deficit to just 45-47 entering the payoff period before Makati launched a strong finishing attack behind Celis and Mateto en route to the win. 

Rion Notrist Porcada was the lone man fighting with 15 points and five rebounds for Bacoor which lost in front of Cavite Vice Governor-elect Jolo Revilla who even sat on their bench at the start of the game.

Pasay, on the other hand, leaned on a furious start as it ran away right away from Las Piñas, 42-25, at the break. 

Four players scored in double figures led by Kurt Sienes with 23 points for Pasay which never looked back since then as it even ballooned the lead to as many as 22 points on its way to a dominating win. 

Reymon Guiron also added 19 points while Sage Montevirgen and Ralph Ramos chipped in 10 markers apiece for Pasay which gained a share of top spot with Bacoor and Makati in the South Division of the M-League that is also bankrolled by Synergy 88, World Balance, Excellent Noodles and San Miguel Corporation as major sponsors. 

Jericho Reyes put up a wasted career effort of 38 points on 5-of-10 shooting from beyond the arc for Las Pinas which slid to 2-2 mark. It was also the most points in a game in the tournament by any player.

Meanwhile, home team Taguig squeaked by neighbor city Parañaque to finally barge into the win colum of this M-League tourney for 17-year olds and under basketball aspirants which also has as SMS Global Technologies, Inc. as official livestream and technology partner, Spalding as official ball, Team Rebel Sports as official outfitter, PLDT as official internet provider and Manila Bulletin as media partner. 

Ralp Angelo Cruz racked up 12 points and 11 rebounds to lead the way for the Junior Generals who finally broke into the win-column after a 0-2 start in the South Division of the M-League that is also supported by Gerry’s Grill, Summit Water, Alcoplus, Nature’s Spring and Goodfellow. 

Samuel John Juntilla, for his part, posted 18 points and six boards for Parañaque which remained winless in two games. (JBU)

The scores: 


Pasay 79 — Sienes 23, Guiron 19, Montevirgen 10, Ramos 10, Frias 6, Ballonado 3, Ante 2, Garbiles 0, Tamandato 0, Osorio 0, Perez 0, Misolas 0, Tanao-Tanao 0

Las Pinas 67 — Reyes 38, Panganiban 8, N. Valencia, D. Valencia  5, Lipata 3, Ladra 3, Mendoza 2, Garcia 1, Cayabyab 0, Petilla 0, Fontanilla 0, Orendain 0

Quarterscores: 24-12, 42-25, 64-55, 79-67


Makati 71 — R. Celis 18, Mateto 15, Ilagan 9, Isidro 8, Raz 7, Quijano 6, L. Celis 6, Velasco 2, Parane 0, Mamuad 0, Sulit 0

Bacoor 60– Porcadas 15, Melencio 12, Torrijos 9, Villarin 7, Pecho 6, Malabanan 4, Cornand 4, Bautista 2, Torno 1, Buhay 0, Gutirrez 0, Aranilla 0, Rocha 0, Corrales 0

Quarterscores: 19-13, 33-24, 47-45, 71-60


Taguig 55 — Cruz 12, Ofianga 10, Castillo 7, Mirasol IV 5, Arceo 5, Calos 4, Baria 3, Amaro Jr. 2, Bisnar 2, Pizzaro 0, Pagsisihan 0, Bernardino 0, Gmmad 0

Paranaque 44 — Juntill 18, Querido 11, Capulong 5, Bautista 4, Marcaida 4, Arciga 2, Bandalan 0, C. Carlos 0, S. Carlos 0, Tupaz 0, Velasquez 0

Quarterscores: 15-11, 28-19, 43-34, 55-44