2019 Metro League 13-and-under boys basketball: OCTAGON IMPROVES TO 4-0, KEEPS CALOOCAN WINLESS

Team Standings

Octagon 4-0
Solid San Juan 2-1
Makati 1-2
Caloocan 0-4
Muntinlupa 0-0

Unbeaten Octagon extended its perfect streak following a 76-66 win over still winless Caloocan in the Metro League 13-&-under boys basketball tournament Saturday morning at the Niagara Industrial Equipment Corporation Gym. 

Fresh from 74-37 rout of Makati last week, Octagon picked up where it left off as it led by as many as 29 points before settling for a 10-point victory against the Caloocan newbies.

Octagon thus improved to an unblemished 4-0 slate in the five-team double round-robin tournament for 13-and-under cagers that is backed by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) and with Barangay 143 as league presentor.

Daryn Valdeavilla put up an efficient 15 markers in just 17 minutes of action to banner the AMA-backed Octagon squad in the M-League tourney that is also bankrolled by Synergy 88, World Balance, Excellent Noodles and San Miguel Corporation as major sponsors.

Save for Carl Jerome Galindez, all other 14 players barged into the scoring department for Octagon led by Romeo III Ebdane who finished with seven points and 14 rebounds.

After three straight losses in as many games, Caloocan still found it hard to register its first win after being overwhelmed by Octagon in the first 20 minutes of play, 46-29.

Caloocan never recovered from there en route to its fourth straight loss in the M-League which also has SMS Global Technologies, Inc. as official livestream and technology partner, Spalding as official ball, Team Rebel Sports as official outfitter, PLDT as official internet service provider and Manila Bulletin as media partner.

Macky Sarmiento tallied 18 points and seven rebounds to serve as the only bright spot for Caloocan in the tourney of the M-League that is also supported by Gerry’s Grill, Summit Water, Alcoplus, Nature’s Spring and Goodfellow. (JBU)

The scores:

Octagon 76 – Valdeavilla 15, Ebdane 7, Padolina 6, Manalad 5, Kua 5, Prado 5, Vicente 5, Arejola 5, Lugtu 4, Maneja 4, Lopez 4, Sison 4, Herrera 3. Tan 2, Yu 2, Galindez 0

Caloocan 66 – Sarmiento 18, Maligro 9, Pangan 6, Alpuerto 6, Perartilla 5, Endaya 5, Jerusalem 5, Hagos 4, Gloria 3, San Diego 2, Colibao 2, Teope 1, Abelardo 0, Espiritu 0, Cruz 0, Franco 0

Quarterscores: 19-11, 46-29, 65-37, 76-66